Building Wild: A Chimney Sweep lends a hand

By Lacy Bailey, guest blogger and CSIA Certified Chimney Sweep No. 7385

After sweeping many chimneys and installing numerous chimney liners in my eight-year career in the industry, I was given the opportunity to be a part of a National Geographic Channel do-it-yourself reality TV show that debuts Jan. 14, called “Building Wild.”

A great man in my life named John Cooney happened to be one of the general contractors and designers of these amazing cabins.

John knew about my work ethic and experience working with people and asked me to join his prefab team. This means I and an amazing crew built these cabins then disassembled and transported to the location of the build.

Halfway through the season the prefab portion was complete, but not a week later I got another call to help out – the call I was hoping for. I was asked to run equipment for Pat “Tuffy” Bakaitis. While running the equipment, I also got my hands on the builds, and had a blast doing so.

A few times I was called in to inspect the installations of the wood stoves. This was a cakewalk considering that these carpenters were at the top of their game.

MORE: Learn more about Lacy on his profile page on the csia.org website.

I’ve been working with chimneys since I was 18 years old and have a passion for it. What sold it to the show’s leaders to bring me aboard was that they felt better about my qualifications, knowing that I was certified through the Chimney Safety Institute of America. It was a reassurance.

As to the details surrounding the show, when you watch it I’m sure you will be “all in” for the hour, but think about this – it takes 1,000 hours of film to create a one-hour episode. We worked hard, and for the people I met and became close with, I thank you! I will forever remember this experience!

Watch a preview of the show on the National Geographic Channel YouTube channel.

Guest blogger Lacy Bailey is owner of Cambridge Stove and Chimney, of Cambridge, N.Y. He earned his Certified Chimney Sweep (CCS) credential in 2009 and his Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician (C-DET) credential in 2012. 


Leave a Reply

